First take: Android 5.0 Lollipop breathes new life into the old Nexus 5

Can’t wait!

Gigaom

Last night I downloaded the official Android 5.0 Lollipop image and flashed it on a Nexus 5 phone. I could have waited for Google to push the software update over the air, but no self-respecting gadget enthusiast actually waits for new software when they can get it earlier on their own. There’s a downside to this process, though: All data and previously installed apps are wiped out.

That actually doesn’t bother me. I use it to my advantage by reinstalling apps as I need them. I do the same with new iPhones, setting them up from scratch instead of restoring backups and such. My photos, data, and contacts are all in the cloud and this lets me cull through the many apps that I accumulate over time. So I ended up with a pure stock Android phone after the installation and immediately saw the Hangouts icon where my old Messenger…

View original post 570 more words

Leave a Reply

