My new Nexus 5

image

This is my new Nexus 5 32 GB phone, using Ting, a Sprint MVNO as my provider.

I found the phone to be well made and filled with decent hardware. Stock Android 4.4 Kitkat is a breeze to navigate,  without any lags or freezes, and the combination of a Snapdragon 800 and a Vanilla OS makes it a dream even with the most demanding apps. 2 GB of memory helps keep things speedy as well.

I didn’t get a chance to try the 802.11ac WiFi yet, but the n protocol zips along fast enough in my apartment better than any of my other devices except my Acer laptop.

The Nexus 5 has proved to be a bit of a mixed bag in terms of usefulness. Near an outlet it is the best phone I have ever used, hands down… As long as there is an A/C outlet to charge the battery, that is. Google really needs to stop trying to be Apple and start paying attention to actual usage scenarios, such as a power user who wants to put the Snapdragon 800 CPU and 2 GB of RAM to proper use. In such a case you need a battery that can keep this massive powerhouse fed, but that is exactly what they did not do, effectively making this a non-mobile smartphone for anything more than voice calls and a minimal app load, if you need to get through a day without charging.

Other than the smallish battery, this phone is stellar. The Snapdragon 800 is overkill frankly: there is no app this phone cannot handle. The 1920×1080 screen is a delight, and the 2 GB of RAM is good enough that I can be a little bit sloppy when it comes to app management. This is something only my Nexus 7 let me get away with up until now, and I am happy with that since the whole point of a smartphone is apps!

I chose the 32 GB version fortunately, since Google Play Music All Access stores albums and songs in a data heavy format. The lack of an SD card is felt when I want to store more than a few albums for offline listening, which is every time I walk away from my WiFi. Google needs to stop treating SD like an ugly stepchild and realize that the micro SD card slot is considered a feature by most, and not a detractor. Again, trying to be like Apple too much for my liking.

I can’t really knock this phone in any way except for the battery and the missing SD card, everything performs flawlessly, and the design is quite sexy. Now that we know the Nexus 6 is only going to have a 5.2 inch screen,  there is little reason other than fashion to upgrade this year. I had been toying with the idea of upgrading due to a larger battery inherent with a larger screen, but now that the specs have leaked there is no compelling reason to upgrade. If you are reading this after the new phone is released, consider stepping down to the Nexus 5, which at your point in time will likely be had for a steal.

A 2.26 GHz quad core processor, 1080p 5 inch screen, 32 GB ROM and 2 GB of RAM for $423 after taxes plus shipping was too good a deal for me to pass up, honestly. Now to figure out how to make the battery last longer…

image
Leave a Reply

