S3 on Virgin Mobile July 2013

The Samsung Galaxy S3 has arrived on Virgin Mobile, and I am very interested in this phone. It is the American variant, with a dual-core processor, which means that it is underpowered compared to the international version, however better battery life is the positive outcome here.

I use my phone for podcasts, since there is no SD card slot on the Nexus 7 tablet. The Evo V 4G from Virgin Mobile officially only supports a 32 GB MicroSDHC card. The S3 supports up to a 64 GB MicroSDXC card, which will be more than enough to support a podcast habit.

The screen is 720p, which means I will be able to download and watch higher bitrate content, and if I remember correctly, the screen is 4.8 inches diagonal. That essentially means I will be able to watch HD content while actually gaining a benefit.

The phone is a 4G LTE capable device, and my city is supposed to have that service available around my home, so I simply pray they have all their ducks in a row regarding coverage here.

It will take a couple months to save up for the phone, and I also have a tablet purchase I need to make by the end of this year as well. Hopefully, I will finally be able to own a Galaxy S again soon.

Leave a Reply

